The Little Things



The summer of 2008 was when I had to stop working.  Up until that point, it seems like life had always been full speed ahead.  You know…Supermom with the cape and all πŸ˜‰  My husband and I felt it was important for me to be  home for our children until they would attend full days of school.  This has always been what was/is right for our family, and I have no regrets in that regard.  In order to achieve this, I was at home with the children all day, and then zipped out to work 4 evenings a week, and then rolled back in around 1am.  Get up at 7am and repeat the process.  The last year, I was also working Sundays.  So, there really wasn’t much time or energy to even notice the little things.  At that time, I took care of mostly all the household duties, finances, appointments, anything child related…etc., because I was home during the day, and most importantly, I was fully capable at the time.

Two years ago is when I lost my super powers πŸ˜‰ , although I was in complete denial.  So, I continued full speed ahead until I hit a brick wall June 2008.  Realization kicked in that I would be needing to stop work, when I could no longer get out of bed.  Perhaps my doctor was right by warning me months prior, that it was time to give up my job πŸ˜‰

It has taken me a long time, to accept my situation and to overcome the feelings of guilt that are associated with not being able to do most of the things I used to, for my family.  In all honesty, I’m still not quite there, but I’ve come a long way.  I don’t know if I’ll ever be completely at peace with it, but the world around me has certainly gotten brighter!  It was unimaginable to me that I could have to live with chronic pain, chronic fatigue, let alone all the other symptoms AND be happy.  It is possible πŸ™‚  I allow myself "meltdowns", when they are needed, and then it’s time to keep moving πŸ˜‰  

One of the best things that resulted from this nasty beast, is that I have been forced to slow down, and often stop completely.  The smallest things thrill me.  It doesn’t take much to make me happy.  Not because I’ve ever had a near death experience or anything like that πŸ˜‰  It is simply because now I am forced to take the time and to notice things I was much too busy to notice before.  I am delighted by the little things.

I cherish my good days, because they are so infrequent lately, and the rest of the days I take comfort in the little things πŸ˜‰

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

