Psychology Today Magazine

 

Last night, while I was waiting for all my prescriptions to be filled at the drugstore, I was browsing the magazine and book area.  "Psychology Today" has been one of my favorite magazines to read for as long as I can remember, and it’s been so long since I bought an issue.  So, I treated myself to the latest issue along with a book that I’ve heard about that looks hilarous (I’ll save that for another post…lol).

While reading, I came across an interesting article called "A Gray Area – Finding Fibromyalgia in The Brain" by Dave Levitan.  I have read of this theory before, however I was actually surprised to see an article published in this magazine.  It talks about there being findings, by researchers, of a difference in the density of gray-matter in certain parts of the brain of those who suffer from Fibromyalgia.  It also indicates that we have lower levels of dopamine metabolism.  Dopamine is a neurotrasmitter.  The article indicates that the decrease in dopamine activities in the brain of those who suffer from Fibromyalgia, might be responsible for the changes they see in the brain, which in turn would make it responsible for Fibromyalgia.
 
For now, we are still walking the road of trial and error, and it feels like a very long and tiring road…I know!  Those of us who walk this road, know all too well how hard it is to find something that works for each of us.  We also know that for many of us, the medications do not have the benefits that they visually paint with the people in their commercial.  Arrrggg!  I HATE those commercials!  Hopefully, one day (sooner than later), reasearchers will come up with a pharmaceutical intervention that will work for all of us who suffer from this beast.  I have hope and faith that one day, Fibromaylgia will be much more easily managed and hopefully even a cure! 

Until that day arrives, hang in there and do the best you can.  One day at a time.

~ Have hope, and have faith!!! ~

 

~ Gentle Hugs ~
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

