Jackpot!


 

Believe it or not, I’m still trying to shake this nasty bug that I got about 3 weeks ago, or maybe this is week 4…I’ve lost track. Dominique from 4wallsandaview might be able to tell me since I sent it via blogsphere to her ๐Ÿ™‚ Mwah! Love you chicky ๐Ÿ˜‰

My fatigue level has been over the top, and it’s been impossible to keep myself out of bed. So, with my heating pad, blanket and my daughter (she’s my shadow), I spent the day in bed. What’s really frustrating is that I can’t doze off during the day because my legs keep twitching. A friend of mine brought up restless leg syndrome awhile back when we were talking about this, and I think he might be right. At night, it’s fine because I’m heavily sedated. Unfortunately, I don’t have that option during the day because I’m alone with my 3 year old, and on the odd chance my son needs me, I need to make sure that I’m able to drive.

Back to this very stubborn virus, which has now settled in my chest. I take "Ivy Leaf Syrup" which I swear by, and the congestion was clearing, until I ran out, about a week ago. Finally yesterday, I went to the health food store to buy some more, but discovered that they are sold out. Not only is the store sold out, I’m informed, the distributor for this product has had it on back order for about 3 months. Typically, I keep a healthy stock of this stuff, but with all 4 of us getting sick simultaneously, we quickly depleted our supply.

Today, I stopped in at another health food store, which I know usually carries a limited amount. Of course my expectations weren’t very high, as this stuff can be tricky to access on a good day. I was ecstatic when I saw 7 boxes on the shelf!!!! I bought 4 ๐Ÿ™‚ So hopefully, this supply will last us until all the back orders on this product are filled!

With any luck, now that I can resume treatment, I can nip this in the butt, once and for all!

Hope everyone is having a good evening!

~ Gentle Hugs

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Jackpot!

  1. Anonymous says:

    Hello from April
    I am so glad that you are feeling better, or at least that you got some more of that syrup. I will definitely put that on my list of things to try.
    This is the same April from the NFA, by the way and I just wanted to say thanks so much for your enthusiasm. I really appreciate your positive attitude and your approach to dealing with Fibro.
    I’m praying you get better soon, I always get really grumpy when dealing with colds on top of the FM/CFS. Oh, and about the restless legs: I found that the restless legs got better for me when I started taking magnesium and walking a little during the day. Does that work for you too?
    Hug! April ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Nancy says:

      Re: Hello from April
      Hi April & thank you!!! It is well worth checking out ๐Ÿ™‚ Yeah, I was pretty cranky, especially the first week.
      I need to get on the magnesium and see if that helps! Thanks for the suggestion ๐Ÿ™‚
      I’m so glad that you are enjoying reading here April, and hope you will keep coming back ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Anonymous says:

    Awww Sorry you feel so rough honey! Don’t send your bug via internet to me though! ๐Ÿ˜‰
    I was going to tell you I just picked up a Sunbeam heating pad at Co-op funny enough.. and it was a great deal! The heating pad is almost as close to 4 feet long! It is meant to run all night, and it is a low and long heat instead of high and fast… It works really well! I think I paid $25 for it and it is a $70 heating pad.. I don’t know if you go to Co-op, but if you are interested, I can see if mine still has some the next time I go… they are on clearance, so I am sure they will disappear quickly.
    love ya chickie!
    Jojo

    • Nancy says:

      Thanks for the offer Jojo, but I’m loving my heating pad that I have ๐Ÿ™‚ Just got it about a month ago.
      I’ll try to keep my germs on this side of the net ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Love you!

  3. I’ve never heard of Ivy Leaf Syrup before, but I’ll have to check into it. Any sickness always makes its way around our apartment pretty darn thoroughly a couple of times.
    I hope that you can finally get rid of your illness soon. You’ll be in my thoughts.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Ivy leaf syrup?
    Huh, I’ve never heard of it! What does it do? Glad you were able to find a stash of it… always nice to have our secret health weapons in stock!

  5. Anonymous says:

    Get Well ๐Ÿ™‚
    I hope you feel better soon!!
    I also have Restless Leg Syndrome so I know how terribly hard it can be to stay well-rested.
    Annie

    • Nancy says:

      Re: Get Well ๐Ÿ™‚
      Isn’t it annoying?!?! Do you take any meds for it? I was given a medication to control the tremors I get and it did help with that, as well as the legs, but the meds made me so sick that I slept for 3 weeks. I couldn’t keep my head up without nasty nausea. I don’t tolerate meds very well, which is really frustrating as it has narrowed my options down immensely!

Leave a Reply

