Less Than Glamorous ~ No Shame

This article will be addressing matters that are less than glamorous, so if you are someone who has an issue reading about bodily functions, you may just want to skip this post 😉
 
This is not usually something that people feel comfortable discussing with their friends or relatives, however it is something that needs to be discussed, and I have no shame, so here it goes 😉

It’s no secret that many of us with chronic illnesses are also affected by digestive issues. Perhaps you suffer from IBS (Irritable Bowel Syndrome) and/or constipation. Some of the medications we have to take to manage our illnesses can also create or add to digestive issues.

Can anyone relate? Okay…I don’t actually anticipate that anyone is going to chime in on this post, but you might just surprise me! lol

It is important to eat a balanced diet, and ingest enough water in order to help maintain digestive health. Be sure that you are getting enough fiber in your diet, and make sure you move. I know how difficult incorporating exercise can be for us chronic folks, but anything that gets your body moving, can help get your bowels moving too 😉

What if that is not enough?

Of course, if you are having issues, it is always recommended to consult with your doctor. If your problems are severe enough, your doctor may want to rule out any medical problem affecting your colon or rectum, such as a tumor or an intestinal obstruction.

Constipation is a familiar problem for those who suffer from pelvic floor dysfunction, as this condition is caused by the pelvic muscles weakening, which in turn can make it very difficult to have a “normal” bowel movement.

Enough about the bad part, and let’s get to why I decided to post on this topic in the first place 😉  There are many products on the market that can help.  Some are natural, and some….not so much 😉

My personal favorite is papaya enzymes! Yes, my friends, papaya enzymes have been a wonderful discovery for me 😉

You can get this supplement in the form of chewable tablets, and they taste yummy! The tablets contain papain, which is an enzyme found in papayas, which helps in the breaking down and digesting of protein. It helps the body to retain nutrients, and eliminate toxins. It has been my experience that taking papaya enzymes daily has been beneficial in maintaining my digestive health, in a gentle way. If I slack off and don’t take them, I run into some serious problems :S

In addition, papayas are an excellent source of vitamin C and carotene.

Papayas and papaya enzymes come with a wide range of benefits, that I think we can all benefit from, and not just for those of us who might have struggles in that area 😉

I encourage you to check it out!

That being said, please remember that I am NOT a doctor, and what I write is strictly based on my own personal experiences and my own research. If you are uncertain, it is always recommended you consult a professional for advice!

I hope everyone is having a fabulous day!

~ Gentle Hugs

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Less Than Glamorous ~ No Shame

  1. Anonymous says:

    I had really bad IBS for years. Went from one extreme to the other. Until recently. I added probiotics (live) and digestive aids with every meal. That was it for me. I no longer suffer from IBS at all.
    I did go to an all natural (farm coop) diet and raw milk which also helped immensely and the food is amazing!

    • Nancy says:

      I’m so glad you found what worked for you! It really is a horrible problem, for many of us. I too would go from one extreme to the other. I don’t stand a chance without the papaya enzymes. I need to work probiotics into my routine. It’s something I’ve been meaning to do for ages, but haven’t.
      Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

