Wal-Mart worker fired over medical marijuana

GET LEGAL PEOPLE Pictures, Images and Photos

I heard about this story through Facebook, and was able to track down the full story on MSNBC. This story stirred my emotions, I have to admit. It seems that this man is trying hard to live the best life he can, and that involves him needing to use medical marijuana. He explained that never went to work high, it was prescribed by his doctor, and he has a card from the state of Michigan, as proof that he is legally allowed to use medical marijuana. Yet, this father of two, was fired for his job after a drug test at work was conducted.

The laws don’t seem to be entirely clear. From what I can gather, the state law regarding this topic, contradicts the federal law, and vice versa.

Please click the link below to read the full story.

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/35913492/ns/business-careers//

It would be interesting to hear other people’s feedback on this topic, so please chime in!

For those of you who may not be aware, you can leave a comment anonymously, so please feel comfortable to state your opinion. Nobody, including myself will be able to see any information that identifies you.

Thanks for reading!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Wal-Mart worker fired over medical marijuana

  1. Anonymous says:

    Wal=Mart
    Wow, I hadn’t heard about this case so thanks for posting it. My question is what if an employee was taking Vicodine for pain, or amphetimines for ADD? Would they also be fired? All are prescribed meds right? This is ridiculous. This sounds like they were trying to avoid dealing with his on the job injury…maybe?
    mo

  2. Anonymous says:

    OH NO!
    The fact that people can do that when it is an approved prescription disgusts me.
    Someone with chronic pain working is what should be seen here. These are the things some of us want to accomplish and he’s being fired for it.
    Okay rant over.
    Hope all is well!
    Annie

  3. I’m legally allowed medical marijuana, though I don’t use it very much because of school and stuff – it gets me pretty out of it for awhile, so I only use it when I’m feeling really bad. This isn’t an issue for me yet since I’m not working while I’m in school (theres no way I could!) but its definitely worrying that it could become a problem in the future.
    then again I’m in Canada so laws might be different, but I’m pretty uneducated on that topic.
    thanks for sharing this

  4. Nancy says:

    I feel the same as all of you. Even medicated, I’m unable to work, and had to stop working 2 years ago. This man has found a way to be able to function and work despite chronic pain, thanks to medicinal marijuana (which by the way, doesn’t work for me), and they are coming down on him. I could understand if he was high, not wanting to have a lawsuit on their hands if something were to happen, but if he is simply medicating enough to ease his pain, and not to get high, then I really don’t understand. I don’t see why a prescription for medicinal marijuana should be treated any different than any other pain meds, or other prescriptions for that matter.
    I live in Canada as well, and I know that you can get legalized, but have no idea how it is dealt with in the workforce. When I was still working, I was medicated, but never discussed my medications with my employer. I was on Cesamet, at that time, which is essentially medicinal marijuana in capsules to swallow.
    Makes me wonder how often cases like this happen, and we just don’t hear about them….sad 😦

  5. Anonymous says:

    If it has been prescribed by his doctor, and it is improving instead of negatively affecting his ability to go to work, then I do not see a problem with it. There needs to be some common sense instead of a knee-jerk reaction because the word “drug” is involved.

Leave a Reply

