Walking On Eggshells

I’m back πŸ™‚

A couple of days go by without blogging, and I feel like I’ve been away forever. This has most definitely become one of my comfort zones!

The last couple of days have been extremely challenging in regards to pain. In addition to the symptoms from FM, I’ve been suffering increasingly more frequent and longer bouts of pelvic spasm. This has been enough to make me lose my grip a few times in the last 48 hours. Pain really has a way of bringing out the worst in me emotionally, which is another reason I held back from posting. I didn’t want to write a post fueled by anger or through the blur of my tears.

Today has been more manageable, but I know that it won’t take much to throw me over the edge. I feel like I’m walking on eggshells around MYSELF, not to set off the pain and spasm alarms to the point that they are deafening again. I decided that today I would just be gentle on myself, and even managed to squeeze a nap in, early this afternoon.

My nephew and brother-in-law are in town this weekend, for a hockey tournament. My family and I are SO excited to see him play this evening. It is really important to me, that I be able go and support my favorite hockey player ever πŸ˜‰ The kids are all very excited to see each other. They live quite far away, so we usually don’t get to see each other more than once a year or so. I’m looking forward to it, and am willing to accept the consequences that are likely to come, from sitting in an arena for a couple of hours πŸ˜‰ An opportunity for a great family experience is worth that price to me πŸ™‚

What are you doing this Good Friday? What are your plans for the weekend?

Most importantly, how have YOU been doing?

I hope that in some way, you are being gentle with yourself too today.

~ Gentle Hugs

Post from mobile portal m.livejournal.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Walking On Eggshells

  1. Anonymous says:

    Easter weekend
    This will be a crazy weekend for me. My Husband is working Saturday ALL day, from 9:00 until 9:00. The poor guy works 3 jobs to keep us out of the poorhouse. My oldest son is a firefighter and is working Easter Sunday so the married guys with kids can spend the day with their families. My younger son is driving in from college and has to leave Sunday late afternoon to get back to school. AND my sister is sick with what they think is Mono. My two boysa and I will have dinner with my Mom on Saturday, and I’m hoping to feel good enough on Easter so I can go to church. Wow, sorry to sound like such a downer…I’m happy that I can spend time with my family…just not at all the same time! Have a wonderful holiday and enjoy that hockey game!
    xoxomaureen

    • Nancy says:

      Re: Easter weekend
      Hi Maureen!
      Thanks for stopping in :). You don’t sound like a downer at all, you sound like you have a lot on your plate this Easter weekend! How nice of your son for working Sunday so that the others who have children can have Easter with their children.
      I had Mono as a teenager, and it was horrible. I hope she is taking good care of herself and will make a quick recovery.
      The hockey game was great! As expected my body is rebelling pretty bad now, and I even fell asleep for a couple of hours. I’m hoping that I can make my nephew’s other game, tomorrow afternoon :S I might be pushing my luck.
      Best wishes that your Sunday plans work out well for you πŸ™‚
      Nancy

  2. Anonymous says:

    Happy Easter!
    Hi Nancy,
    I’m sorry to hear that you are dealing with another kind of pain. Since your last post, I have been thinking more seriously about seeing a doctor for my “delicate” issues as well, and I have to thank you for writing about it.
    I have come down with a cold, which is my first in quite a long time. So, I will be having a very quiet (but happy) Easter. Reading your posts always cheer me up and make me smile! It doesn’t matter if you are grumpy as you write, we all have days like that.
    I’m praying that you’ll be able to really enjoy yourself at the hockey tournament. And Happy Easter!
    Hug,
    April

    • Nancy says:

      Re: Happy Easter!
      Hi April,
      I’m sorry that you too are dealing with “delicate” issues. When I get a bit more energy, I’ll send you an email πŸ˜‰
      I hope your nasty cold packs up and goes away soon!!! Hope you were still able to enjoy your day a bit.
      It was wonderful watching my nephew play his hockey games. They won the tournament this afternoon! I’m such a proud Auntie πŸ™‚
      Sending you healing (((((hugs)))))!

Leave a Reply

