Setting Goals

It’s quite a chilly and grey looking day today. The kind of day that is perfect for cuddling under some snuggly blankets and watching a movie. So far, I’ve been able to resist the urge to do that today, and instead I have been trying to be productive with my time and energy (or lack there of), without overdoing it. You know how fine that line can be!

This morning, I completed the online lesson of session 2 from the online workshop/pilot project which I am participating in. As part of the workshop, participants are asked to set achievable goals for themselves. Participants also list things that could be a barrier that may make it more difficult for them to reach their goals. Each participant benefits from the encouragement and suggestions of the other group members.

So far, I am finding the workshop to be a positive experience. These first couple of weeks have been more of a review from skills I learned in other classes, but it’s always good to remind yourself of strategies you may not have applied for awhile.

To date, I am finding the goal setting and listing obstacles to overcome has been the most helpful part of this workshop. I’m learning how to break activities down into more realistic goals and to be very specific about what I’m setting out to accomplish. This is something I have had great struggles with since I got sick. I often feel that I set myself up to fail, and despite the fact that I’m trying my best, I’m not seeing results. I’m learning that the manner in which I set up my goals, and how I prepare to accomplish them, can make a world of difference!

How do you set your goals?

What goals are on your list?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Setting Goals

  1. Anonymous says:

    Goals?
    Wow, you made me think for a minute. I really don’t have any goals…I used to I guess, but not anymore. My main thought process of the day is to just get through it, maybe make some dinner, and look alive when Hubby comes home. I think being sick for 9 years has made me not able to think of goals. BUT, my goal for this week is to get a haircut…big deal for me!
    Sorry to sound like a downer today………….mo

    • Nancy says:

      Re: Goals?
      Hi Maureen,
      Please don’t ever apologize here for how you are feeling. That is the beauty of people with chronic illness coming together, is we “get” each other, and we can be real, and not feel the need to apologize or always try to put on a happy face (((hugs))).
      Good for you, for setting a goal to get a haircut!!! I’m sure any of us struggling with FMS & CFS can all relate to why this is a big deal. It may sound like such a simple thing to a person who is in good health, but for us, every single thing is an effort. It’s not just a matter of getting your haircut. It’s the process of breaking down everything that is involved with accomplishing that goal. Getting up, eating, getting dressed, getting in the car, driving to the place….etc. By the time we get home, we are ready for bed 😉
      A good day for me means surviving the day, and looking alive when hubby gets home too 😉 If I’m not wearing what I slept in the night before and have makeup on, then that’s a double bonus!
      I really enjoy hearing from you!
      Also! I keep forgetting to ask if you have a blog? If so, I would love to pop in for a “visit” 😉
      Hang in there!
      (((giant gentle hugs)))
      Nancy

  2. Anonymous says:

    You made me laugh when you said that you’re happy if you have different clothes on when your husband gets home. I feel the same. Now makeup??? That’s not very often, but he knows I”ve had a good day if I do have makeup on! I read some of your recipes and I am definately going to try the chicken soup. And yes, I do have a blog, I am not a seasoned blogger, just a few months, and I don’t post everyday. I am going to write about goals too as you did today. I don’t write too much about my health, just everyday things that come up.
    http://moisbloggingithink.wordpress.com.
    Come and visit!
    maureen (Mo)

    • Nancy says:

      I have recipes??? Ummm….I’m thinking you might be thinking of someone else Maureen 😉 I avoid the kitchen at all cost! LOL!
      I can’t wait to read your blog, and that’s exactly what I plan to do tomorrow 🙂 Thanks so much!

  3. Anonymous says:

    Whoops! Must have had brain fog…but I did see some good recipes…now I’ll never find them. Well that’s good I guess, I won’t have to cook!

  4. Anonymous says:

    I agree, they should be letting us Canadians in on the pain relief!
    Hope things are well.
    xoxo,
    Annie

  5. Anonymous says:

    I find what works for me is a goal setting app called GoalsOnTrack and it has worked very well. It saves me a lot of time in keeping track of my goals and most importantly it helps me better organize my daily todos towards achieving my goals. You may want to check it out.

    • Nancy says:

      Thanks for the great suggestion! I’ve never heard of that site. I will most definitely check it out!
      Hope you are having a great evening!

Leave a Reply

