Fibro, IBS, IC & Hormones


(Photo from WeHeartIt)

WebMd has an interesting article explaining the impact that hormone fluctuation has on women with FMS, IBS and IC.

I noticed a pattern that I would often have a major flare with FMS and IBS every month before evil Auntie Flo would visit.

If you are interested in reading the article, please click on the link below.

www.webmd.com/fibromyalgia/news/20100416/fibromyalgia-gets-worse-during-menstruation

Do you struggle with worsened symptoms around the time of your period? You are certainly not alone.

~ Gentle Hugs

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fibro, IBS, IC & Hormones

  1. My period always made my FM worse. I used to get cramps that would start in the small of my back and radiate down both legs. Combine that with the “normal” level of pain I experience with fibromyalgia. Then add in the fact I worked retail for a decade, and for most of that time I had to stand during my entire shift. Last but not least, because of the fact my reproductive system was basically stuck to the front of my intestines by scar tissue, every month I’d also get *intestinal* cramping, bloating, diarrhea, etc. By the time my shift ended, I’d barely be able to walk.
    I’m so glad I had a hysterectomy six years ago!
    🙂

  2. Anonymous says:

    Oh Boy!
    I had terrible IBS symptoms when I got my period. I haven’t had a period since 1991 due to a hyterectomy. I love when doctors ask you when your last period was and I look all serious and say “1991!!” HA! I can sympathize with anyone that suffers with it.
    maureen

Leave a Reply

