Facing Commitments


(Photo from WeHeartIt)
 

The last few Sundays have been a major reminder of my limitations and my inability to be able to commit to scheduled activities.

My son is supposed to be attending prep classes on Sundays for his first communion. I managed to attend the meeting a few weeks back, and bought the workbook, which parents are responsible to read with their child, and complete the worsheets. That’s fine…I can handle that.

What I cannot handle is having to commit to being in church every Sunday morning at 11am, for 6 weeks straight.  They have structured it so that parent and child go to mass, and then after the opening prayer, the children go off to a room for there prep classes.  There is no option to just drop him off for the class, and be there to pick him up afterward.  It is unfeasible for me to sit through mass on Sunday mornings.  It takes me half the day, just to be able to get myself showered and presentable for anything outside the house.  I feel really guilty, and feel that I should push myself past my limit, and deal with the consequences from my body afterwards…but I know I’ll never get through.  If it was a one time commitment, that would be different, but a 6 week commitment is just way too much. Sunday is the only day I have, to be gentle with myself, and try to recover as much as I can from the week before, in order for me to survive the week ahead.  It is not an option to risk landing myself in bed for the week, in order to fulfill a commitment for one day of the week. My children depend on me for the other 6 days of the week to care for them, and I need to be able to do that to the best of my ability.

I really need to contact someone at the church to try to explain my situation, in hopes that they will be understanding.  I’ve held off from doing that because I keep telling myself that I’ll find a way to make it happen.  We are at week 3 and I think it’s time to acknowledge that I’m unable to follow through.  I admit, I dread having to explain my situation to others, for fear that they won’t understand, and that they will add to the guilt that I already feel.

Isn’t it frustrating when we are unable to fulfill important commitments?  It upsets me more when my inabilities affect others.  Especially when it’s one of my children.

Do you find yourself having to deal with similar situations?  How do you handle them?

Thanks for reading!  I would love to your comments 🙂

~ Gentle Hugs
 

 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Facing Commitments

  1. Anonymous says:

    Church
    Nancy, This is a tough one to figure out. I hope whoever you talk to at the church will be understanding. Pick the priest you like most and talk to him directly. You’ve already done three weeks of this??? I think they should take this into consideration when you tell them you are sick. Sometimes I think churches and schools ask for too much from parents at times. I hope this works out for you.
    xoxomo

Leave a Reply

