I Survived…Barely


(Photo from WeHeartIt)

The last week has been busy and exhausting, however fun at the same time.

The beginning of the week wasn’t so much fun though…lol. My son was sick again, and home from school all week with a nasty cold, cough, and aggravated asthma. Then my daughter caught the virus. Fortunately, my husband and I have managed to avoid catching this round, so far! Touch wood! The little amount of energy I had, was used to take care of them, and try to straighten out the house a bit. Thankfully my husband was able to do most of it for me in the evenings!

My nephew had a hockey tournament here (they live in another province) all weekend. So, my sister, brother-in-law, and their two children arrived on Thursday night. They stayed at the hotel with the rest of the team. My Mom who flew in from down east, arrived on Thursday morning, and was staying with me.

Usually I manage to push my limits for the short period of time that my Mom is here, and just accept the consequences afterwards. This time around, I just wasn’t able to. I think I spent over half of the time she was here, in bed sleeping. Instead of being upset with myself and frustrated over something I cannot help, I tried to see it from another angle. It gave her some quality, alone time with my children. They played cards, games and did puzzles. It was probably good for her to have a quiet visit as well, since she has been having increasing problems with her knees.

It is always so nice to have family visit, and we managed to get to three of my nephew’s games. Each game sucked the life out of me, which landed me in bed for the remainder of the day. The important thing to me, is that I made it to as many games as I could, and he was happy to have his family there, to cheer him on 🙂

Yesterday, my Mom went back home with my sister, to visit with them for a week or so, and then she’ll head back home.

Today, I took the opportunity to just take it easy with my daughter. With everyone gone home, back to work, and back to school, the house was very quiet. My daughter is still struggling with this virus, and dosed off in my bed with me and her dog for a couple of hours 🙂

I’m glad we were able to have a much needed and desired quiet day, and am hoping my little cuddle bug will be feeling better tomorrow!

Hope you are all doing well and taking good care of yourselves!

~ Gentle Hugs

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Survived…Barely

  1. Anonymous says:

    wow
    Nancy, You have been very busy. Too bad the kids got sick, be careful you don’t sick too. I haven’t been reading my blogs as I should be because I have been so busy taking care of both my Mom and my sister, Mono Girl. When I get home from taking care of them…I fall in bed. I am so tired. TOOOOOOOOOOO hot here for me.
    xxoxomo

    • Nancy says:

      Re: wow
      Your poor sister still has mono? 😦 I had mono when I was a teenager, and it was horrible! The heat certainly doesn’t help, and is probably draining your energy 10 times faster!
      I’m sure everyone is telling you the same thing, but make sure you are taking care of yourself! We don’t want you hitting a brick wall!
      Sending lots of gentle hugs & love your way!
      xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

