Let’s Set Some Goals!


(Photo from WeHeartIt)

Good morning!

What’s everyone been doing this week?

Do you find that you function best when following a schedule?

Like many of you, I had to stop working because of my health. The only things in my day that are regularly scheduled, are my medications and the times my son starts and finishes school.

I have noticed that when I schedule things into my week, I achieve more, and feel a stronger sense of accomplishment. Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t
mean packing each day with tasks. If I did this, I would only accomplish a small percentage of my goals, which would defeat the purpose 😉

Ideally, I choose 2 or 3 things that I would like to accomplish during the week. I write them down, and give myself the flexibility of getting them done whenever it works for me during that week. This allows me to focus on my goals based on how I’m feeling, and what else I have going on during the week.

For many of us, it can be very overwhelming when we think about everything that we "should" be getting done. When I get overwhelmed, I have a tendency
to shut down completely, and not accomplish anything. This of course generates even more frustration and negative feelings.

It really doesn’t take much for me to fall out of routine. Having company, my son having a day off school or being home because he’s sick, my husband being on holidays, are a few examples that throw me off any kind of routine.
The biggest one is when summer break starts and my son is home. We don’t have to be up at the crack of dawn, so I have a tendency to give into my
desire to stay up later. I’m a night owl at heart 🙂 and then that throws me off for the next day.

So, every Monday, I’m going to get myself back on track, and set 2 or 3 goals for that week, which I will post here. I encourage you to join me, if you would like, so that we can motivate each other 😉 It can be anything from doing something around the house, to making phone calls that you have
been putting off. Maybe it’s been awhile since you have taken time to watch a movie with your family, or worked on an incomplete project that you started ions ago. Your goal can be as simple as taking time for yourself to do something that you enjoy….such as reading or working on a craft, or simply establishing a routine of some sort, like having a relaxing bubble bath before bed every night. What do you think? Would you like to join me? 🙂

It’s only Thursday, so you have time to think about what your goals will be for next week 😉 I can’t wait to hear what goals you will set for yourself!

Hope everyone is having a great day!!!

~ Gentle Hugs

This entry was posted in Monday Goal Setting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let’s Set Some Goals!

  1. Anonymous says:

    Goals
    Nancy, I am a great list maker too, but at the end of the week sometimes I’ve only crossed of half of what I want to do. Maybe I’m setting myself up for failure because I put too many things on my lists.
    This is a good idea. Maybe it will help me focus more!!
    xoxomo

    • Nancy says:

      Re: Goals
      Maureen! I would love you to join me in this goal setting adventure 😉
      That is one of the most important things, is to not overdue it by putting too many items on your list. The object is for you to accomplish and feel good about what you set out to do at the beginning of the week. If one of two thinks gives you high confidence that you will be able to complete those items, then start with that 🙂
      I’m still thinking about what I’m going to put on my list 😉 It’s been a very rough week, so I will probably take it easy on myself 😉

Leave a Reply

