Monday Goal Setting

(Image from WeHeartIt)

This week is going to be a busy one, so I’m going easy on myself!  As it is, we have an appointment for the van, an appointment with the insurance guy (update: make that 2 appointments with him…that will be a different post), dentist appointments for the kids, and my in-laws landing for a 10 day visit on Friday.  Do I really need to set any goals this week?

Every time I start to think about my goals for this week, I get really overwhelmed.  My hubby is in vacation for the next two weeks, and we have a lot going on that we have to do, as well as things that we want to do.

I’ve been trying to think of a goal that fits nicely into everything else we have going on, and as a result I feel overwhelmed some more.

That is when it dawned on me what my goal should be for the next 2 weeks!  In order to survive these next couple of weeks, I need to focus on one day at a time.  I might also be wise to increase a couple of my medication temporarily.  Since I stopped one of my pain meds because of horrible side effects, my pain has been through the roof most days.  I also need to pace myself as much as possible, and make sure that I fit in some down time each day to give myself more basic care than I normally do.   For example, being religious with icing what needs to be iced, heating what needs to be heated. Using my T.E.N.S. unit, which helps relieve some of the excruciating pain in my hips and knees.  Just basic things that should not fall by the way side, as they often do when we have a lot on the go and very little energy left for taking care of ourselves.

So those are my goals for this week + continuing to watch (read: torture) myself in regards to healthy food choices!  I keep forgetting to weigh myself when I go downstairs to see if I have anything to celebrate yet 😛  I will put an update on this post when I finally remember to do that 🙂

Otherwise, it’s been an emotionally challenging and draining day, which I’m sure will be one of my next posts, but for tonight, I’m just going to enjoy some music and try to relax this very tense body.

IF YOU ARE READING THIS ANYWHERE OTHER THAN AT HTTP://CHRONICCONNECTION.WORDPRESS.COM, THIS POST HAS BEEN STOLEN
This post belongs to Nancy at Chronic Connection. Thank you for being part of my journey of living with Fibromyalgia & Chronic Fatigue Syndrome.

This entry was posted in Monday Goal Setting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Monday Goal Setting

  1. Dominique says:

    That sounds like a great plan to me!

    As for the weight loss, it will happen. While at the hospital I discovered I have lost another 16 pounds for a total of 44 pounds now! I dropped a two dress sizes! Love that!

  2. Nancy says:

    Wow! That’s AWESOME Dominique! Keep doing what you’re doing because it’s obviously working 😉 I know…I have to be patient with myself. The beginning is so hard because you are waiting to see some results. Once I start seeing some results, I know that that alone will motivate me 🙂 After my first child I lost 58 pounds, and in the beginning I really wasn’t overly confident that it was possible. Now, I know it is, so I just need to stay on track, and eventually I’ll get the results I’m hoping for…hopefully!

  3. Pingback: Sunday Goal Check | Chronic Connection

Leave a Reply

