Maintaining Sanity Through A Flare

What do you do when your pain is so high, that it seems impossible to get on top of it?

It has been my experience, once I reach an 8 or 9 on the pain scale, there is very little, if anything at all, that will bring me relief.  I run through the cycle of all the tips and tricks I know, because once in a while, something will help a bit, and it’s not necessarily the one same thing each time. As a matter of fact, it usually isn’t!

When I’ve tried everything I know, without relief, it’s a matter of trying to keep myself calm (pain fuels when panic enters the equation) and ride out the flare as best I can.

Distraction is a technique I use most often to manage my pain, especially when the pain becomes more than I can bear. Even then, I reach a point that I cannot even distract myself from the hell breaking loose within my body.  That is the situation I find myself in this evening. It’s just gone from bad to worse since I woke up this morning.  I most certainly pushed my luck by going to that Stampede breakfast this morning with my family.  We were only there for about and hour or so, but it was enough to throw me right over the edge.

Every single cell in my body is screaming for relief.  My clothes touching my skin is enough to make me well up with tears tonight.  If it wasn’t for my kids being 4 and 8 years old, I swear I’d be walking around my house the way I came into this world 😉

My plan to survive the rest of the evening, is to try to relax for a bit in a luke warm bath (it’s so hot in the house right now) with some of my favorite bath products.

I’ve been wondering if hot rocks would help anything at this point. I admit that the thought of any kind of pressure on my body right now, makes me cringe, but I can’t help but wonder if the heat from the stones will bring more relief than pain.  My sister gave me a hot rock massage kit a couple of years ago, and believe it or not, I still haven’t used it!  I know…crazy!  The main reason being is that by evening, I’m usually too tired to bother with anything that requires preparation or will draw on an energy source which is next to empty.

Tonight just might be the perfect night to give it a try though! The stones can be heating in their “rock bath” while I’m soaking in the tub 🙂  Hubby has given me the thumbs up to help me with this new experience, so that we can see if this gives me any relief 🙂

I love my husband so much!  There is not a day that goes by that I don’t think about how lucky I am to have his unconditional love and support.

Thanks for hanging out long enough to read my ramble for the evening 😉

Wishing you all the sweetest of dreams!

IF YOU ARE READING THIS ANYWHERE OTHER THAN AT HTTP://CHRONICCONNECTION.WORDPRESS.COM, THIS POST HAS BEEN STOLEN
This post belongs to Nancy at Chronic Connection. Thank you for being part of my journey of living with Fibromyalgia & Chronic Fatigue Syndrome.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Maintaining Sanity Through A Flare

  1. FibroMom says:

    Love your new layout! Hope your pain flare-up is on the wane, Nancy. When you’re feeling better, would love to hear how the rock bath goes. The only time Dot got total relief from the high levels of pain you’re talking about was when she was in the hospital with a morphine drip and during a medical hypnosis session at NIH. Neither are possible to replicate at home, unfortunately. Dot and I are thinking of you and look forward to your next post.

  2. Nancy says:

    Thanks FibroMom 🙂 I like it much better over here at WordPress! Moving my blog was a good choice for me, and much more user friendly. So far, I haven’t run into any glitches, so it’s been a nice break from those types of frustrations 😉

    By the time I finished posting last night, I just didn’t have the energy to get in a nice bath or do the hot rock massage, which is exactly the obstacle I keep coming up against 😉 Today I’m still in rough shape, and will probably be spending a good part of the day on my couch or in bed :S My in-laws are flying in tonight for a 10 day visit, so I’m trying to recover as much as I can, but as you know, fibro has a mind of it’s own. There is so much to get done, and at this point, my poor hubby is on his own 😦 I hate lying here thinking about all the things I should be doing, but my body dictates otherwise. So frustrating!

  3. Tiffany says:

    When Bryan’s pain gets like that, he usually just curls up in fetal position on our lazy boy with the heating pad on his stomach. He always seems to pick his stomach, not because that’s where he hurts, but because it’s just comforting. Sometimes it helps, sometimes it doesn’t. It’s nice there are those little comfort measures that can take a bit of the edge off. Hope today is better 🙂

  4. Nancy says:

    Thanks Tiffany, today is a bit better, but it won’t take much to rock the boat. Heating pads are such a wonderful invention 😉 I love mine too! I have a really long heating pad that I lie on for my hips and outside of my thighs mostly, and it gives me some relief. Great for my back too, when it goes into spasm 🙂 Sometimes it’s so hard to get any relief at all, but like you said, cuddling up with the heat is comforting. The heat helps a bit too when my pelvis goes into spasm.

    I hope you guys are having a nice weekend!

  5. Rosemary Lee says:

    I came upon your blog from Dominique. It’s wonderful! I got the rocks also but I haven’t used them yet. Now a question. Why do you like wordpress better? I’m on blogspot right now……is there a difference? I like the comment part much better, it’s easier to respond!
    Look forward to following you!

    Rosemary

  6. Nancy says:

    Nice to “meet” you Rosemary, and thank you so much for the compliment 🙂 I had to laugh when I read that you also have the rocks that you haven’t used…lol! Maybe I’ll put that on my list of goals for the week after tomorrow, when things settle down around at home a bit, and I have more quiet time 😉

    I don’t know a whole lot about blogspot, because I was at LiveJournal originally. I was having lots of “glitch” problems with posting, and inserting media…etc, and I just didn’t have the energy or time to be fussing around with it. I did ask for help through there support at one point, but it came back to me needing more energy than I had to resolve the problem. I was also unsatisfied that the little “extras” that I was paying for (statistics mainly), were never accurate from one hour to the next.

    Things seem to flow very smoothly here, and that makes me a happy camper 😉

    Thanks again for visiting, and I look forward to getting to know you!

    P.S. Go use those hot rocks 😉

  7. Ruth says:

    Nancy,
    I found your blog through Dominique’s. Sorry that you are in a flare, totally know how that is! I have a tens unit that I use occasionally. It sometimes is effective to use heat(love it) but if it is really hot outside, I will use the tens. The heat seems to become the over riding sensation that my brain recognizes, sort of taking it’s attention away from the pain or at least dulling the feel of the pain. It doesn’t usually matter where on my body I put the heating pad, it seems to work. The TENS does the same thing. The sensation of the pulses seems to be what my brain focuses on so that my overall pain level decreases. I think that it is a “white noise” for my brain. There are times when any kind of stimulation is overwhelming and this “white noise” occupies my brain enough to decrease my perception of pain. I don’t know whether a tens is an option for you. My insurance paid for it through my physical therapists. If you use the right diagnosis, it usually isn’t a problem. If no insurance, I think a basic model can be had for about $70.00. A good PT will let you try it to see if it is effective before paying. I know everyone responds differently to treatments, so try it or not. I always trust my own intuition when it comes to new things. I believe we know our bodies better that anyone else. Take care.

  8. Nancy says:

    Hi Ruth 🙂 Nice to “meet” you! My heating pad is my best friend on cooler days. I find it helps my hips and back mostly, and if my pelvis is in spasm, it helps when I lay it on my stomach. I have a T.E.N.S. unit as well, and it gives me a certain amount of relief. My knees are very bad, so often I place the pads about an inch or so above my knees and it helps to release some of the tension there. It helps my hips and back also. These devices are so great for those of us who cannot tolerate any pressure on our bodies from massage therapy, etc.

    Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on this Ruth! Like you, I feel that we each know our own bodies the best. I also believe that we all have so much to gain, by learning from each other. Sometimes we are fortunate to find something that works for us, that someone else has suggested. I think, that is the beauty of those in the chronic pain world coming together to share and support one another! It is always comforting to me, to know that I’m part of a community of people who truly understand what we are going through and care about one another.

    I look forward to getting to know you Ruth 🙂

Leave a Reply

