A Little Novocaine Please

(Image from WeHeartIt)

* Last night’s post *

Someone please inject me with something…anything as this point would be fine!  Perhaps a little Novocaine?  If it can be used for dental work, can it not be used elsewhere in the body???  Hmmm… I should look that up!  We might be onto something people!  I’m allergic to morphine, so that’s not an options. If I could get a good dose of demerol without having to wait 12 hours in an ER, I’d be signing up!

Needless to say, the pain has not subsided since my last post.  To boot, I’m on hour 16 of a migraine, which greeted me this morning when I woke up.  I’ve taken 8 – 10 Extra  Strength Motrin (300g each) since I got up, along with 2 Amitryptyline, as well as the one pain med I kept on board (I canned the one that was causing most of the Dysautonomia issues) and this migraine continues to fight back.  Talk about stubborn!

My hubby’s parents flew in last night, and are visiting us for 10 days. Before their scheduled arrival, I was trying really hard to rest, be gentle with myself, and to give into whatever my body was needing, in hopes that I would be in the best condition possible during their visit.  They haven’t been out for two years, and the last time they were here, was at another very difficult stage of these illnesses. Two years ago, was when I had to take a leave of absence from work (which turned into a permanent leave), and was mostly bedridden during that time.  At that time, not only was I completely overwhelmed with the physical pain, I was overwhelmed with all the emotional components. At that point I was quickly realizing that fibro was throwing me up against a wall, and stripping me of options.

I’ve been travelling this road long enough to know that all the preparation in the world does not ensure fibro will stay out of the way, just because you need it to.  That is just not how fibro works.  It’s like my body is throwing every fit possible to spite me!  I stayed up as much as possible to visit with my in-laws today, but had to give into having a nap for a couple of hours this afternoon, among countless sessions of lying on the couch with an ice pack.

Desperate to get any relief at all, I dumped a ton of epsom salts in a hot bath with some milk bath powder from The Body Shop.  Hubby got some of the tension in my neck and upper back to release by slowly pouring the mixture down the back of my neck, which helped with the migraine a bit too.

Off to dreamland I go.  Hopefully when I wake up in the morning, I’ll get a smoother start to the day!

* This morning *

Yesterday was a rough one.  By the time I finished the top part of this post, I crawled straight into bed without publishing it 😉

Surprisingly, I actually had a half decent sleep last night, and slept in a bit this morning.  I can still feel the strain behind my eyes, and the tension at the base of my skull, however it is nothing close to how I felt yesterday.  Today is another day of trying to take it easy, and not aggravate the situation!

I hope that you are all having a nice weekend with low pain levels!

IF YOU ARE READING THIS ANYWHERE OTHER THAN AT HTTP://CHRONICCONNECTION.WORDPRESS.COM, THIS POST HAS BEEN STOLEN
This post belongs to Nancy at Chronic Connection. Thank you for being part of my journey of living with Fibromyalgia & Chronic Fatigue Syndrome.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Little Novocaine Please

  1. Sherlock says:

    Glad to hear the pain is better today and you got some decent sleep. Hope the rest of the weekend is better.

  2. Nancy says:

    Thanks Sherlock (((gentle hugs))). The migraine keeps trying to wind up again, so I’ve been walking around with sunglasses on all day 😛 I find that the sunglasses help quite a bit! The flare seems to have simmered down a bit now too, so at least I’m heading in the right direction for now 😉

    Hope you are having a good weekend! I’m so behind on reading blogs! I have lots of reading waiting for me 🙂

  3. Vonnie says:

    Hi Nancy,
    As a fellow migraine sufferer, I can relate to your last couple days. I’m constantly researching migraines and tell people I’ll go to my grave looking for a cure.
    I worry about you taking all that Motrin but I understand because it’s out of desperation to relief the pain. Isn’t the Amitryptyline used for preventing migraines? Does it help when you are in mid-migraine?

    Recently, I started drinking Gatorade at the onset of a migraine because I believe part of the problem dehydration. Sometimes it works…sometimes I don’t tolerate migraine meds and allergic to aspirin and motrin so I take codeine/tylenol within the first hour the migraine. but if I wake up with it which is often, the codeine doesn’t work. Nothing does.

    Also, I have a massage once a month and I think it lessens the frequency. However, I see you suffer from fibromylgia and I did for a while but after the fifth or sixth massage my muscle aches have gone and never returned.

    I’m probably not much help but I’m just letting you know – I’m out there and just as frustrated as you.

    PS: I’m sure the stress of the in-laws visit is what started this last one. What to do…what to do. Hang in there. 🙂

    • Nancy says:

      Thank you so much Vonnie for taking the time to reply to my post. Thanks for your concern about all the Motrin I’ve been taking over the last couple of days. I don’t typically take so many Motrins in a day, and didn’t like the idea either. Like you said, it is indeed out of desperation. Between the migraine and the fibro, they are doing me in big time these last few days. My doctor did prescribe the amitriptyline as a preventative, but again….desperate to get relief, I thought I would give it a try. I didn’t do anything for me though.

      Up until recently, the migraines I’ve been getting are more of a pressure in my forehead, and pain behind my eyes from light, which wasn’t a picnic, but it was manageable. This is the first time in a really long time since I’ve had a “classic” migraine. I’m hoping that this will not be a regular occurrence.

      I will have to try your idea, regarding the Gatoraid. Won’t hurt to give it a shot 😉 I try to keep myself well hydrated, as that is a key trigger to headaches and migraines. This time around, I think it is all stemming from the fact that my neck is out, which is causing a bunch of other issues.

      Thanks again so much for visiting, your comment and your encouragement! It really means alot to me 🙂

Leave a Reply

