Back To Basics

Shadow Dancers by Nancy @ Chronic Connection

The last couple of weeks have gone by so quickly!

My husband took two weeks of vacation. The first week, we squeezed in a couple of appointments that we wanted to get out of the way, did some little outings with the kids, and saved some time for just relaxing at home.

We decided that we wouldn’t go away for vacation, since money is tight, my body is uncooperative, and my in-laws would be coming out for a visit at the end of the first week. Instead we planned to try to do a day trip, and for the rest of the time, we wanted to take advantage of all the great things our city has to offer. Depending on where you live, it is amazing how much there is to do, right in your own “backyard”! There is more than enough to do as a family within our city, and that doesn’t even include all the annual festivals that have yet to happen.  Since I wasn’t able to take part in all the plans, it made it easier that we were staying home, versus going away. This way, my husband was still able to go off and do things with the kids, and I could take comfort in having everything I needed at home.  Had we gone away somewhere, I think it would have been really depressing to hang out in a hotel room by myself 😛

Applying The Spoon Theory came in especially useful during these two weeks, so that I was able to participate and enjoy as much as possible with my family, without landing myself in bed for the two weeks.

My in-laws arrived at the end of our first week of holidays, and have been with us until they left for their flight this morning. We did manage to fit in quite a few more activities while they were visiting. I was in pretty rough shape for the first few days they were visiting, so I had to forgo some of the plans we had made, but I did manage to join in for a day trip and a date night with my hubby 🙂

All in all, it was a good couple of weeks and I think everyone enjoyed
themselves.

Today, the kids and I are getting back to basics. I most definitely
function best when we have a routine established, and that can be very difficult to maintain when people are visiting. So that is my focus for the next few days, to get us back on track 😉  Sadness quickly replaced my daughter’s usual happy morning smile, when she remembered that Nana & Papa left early this morning 😦  I think she’ll be needing a little extra TLC today.  She always finds it difficult for a couple of days after company leaves, to go back home.

I hope that you are all having a good start to your day!

Sending lots of gentle hugs your way 🙂

IF YOU ARE READING THIS ANYWHERE OTHER THAN AT HTTP://CHRONICCONNECTION.WORDPRESS.COM, THIS POST HAS BEEN STOLEN
This post belongs to Nancy at Chronic Connection. Thank you for being part of my journey of living with Fibromyalgia & Chronic Fatigue Syndrome

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back To Basics

  1. Dominique says:

    Great post! Actually it really spoke to me. I have really been struggling and your post just pointed out one of the problems. Thank you!

    BTW, congratulations on navigating company and NOT collapsing for 2 weeks. THAT is a major feat! You should be proud of your self.

    I, like you, am discovering no routine is energy draining and super challenging.

    • Nancy says:

      Your welcome, and thank you for the feedback 🙂 I’m glad that it triggered something that might be helpful for you!

      I got up at 5:30 this morning to see my in-laws off, wrote this post, and climbed back into bed for a couple of more hours…LOL. I think a couple of early nights to bed might be in order…I’m exhausted today.

Leave a Reply

