A Sign Of Hope

“Butterflies are a symbol of metamorphosis.

Fibromyalgia gives us the opportunity to

change, grow, and become stronger.”

~ Author Unknown

This morning, my husband and I sat on our back patio, quietly chatting and enjoying a hot cup of coffee, when this beautiful creature fluttered in to join us.  I was so happy that once it finally landed on a flower, we were able to capture a picture of it with hubby’s Blackberry.

It is so rare that we ever see butterflies.  In my heart I think that this was a subtle, yet positive sign I was meant to observe.

This week has challenged me physically, mentally, and emotionally.  The combination of physical pain and feeling overwhelmed mentally, with everything going on with my body, has reduced me to tears more days than not.  I’ve allowed other people’s ignorance impact me emotionally, much more than I normally would, had I been dealing with the same situation on a “good” day.

Yesterday, I was rudely awoken at 3am, with what would be the beginning of an excrutiating day, consumed by the worst migraine I have experienced yet.  For the first couple of hours, I was debating whether or not to get my husband to come home and take me into the ER.  At the same time, I didn’t think I could even endure a car ride to the hospital.  At that point, I couldn’t handle myself, let alone trying to entertain my two children.  The pain was making me violently ill, and was so intense that I started to worry that maybe something else was very wrong.  The biggest fear that entered my thoughts, was that it was an aneurysm.  It truly felt like something was going to burst inside my head.  For those of you who suffer from migraines, you may be nodding and thinking, yup…that’s a migraine.  Fortunately, I have had very little experience with migraines, up until the last couple of months.  I have a very short history to compare yesterday’s event too, however I’ve never felt that magnitude of pain in my head before, and it was really starting to scare me.

I’m someone who typically avoids hospitals at all cost.  As a matter of fact, the last time I went to the hospital for myself, was when I gave birth to my daughter, just over 4 years ago.  For me to be ready to head to the ER, it has to be pretty brutal, and it was, however I waited it out.  By mid afternoon, I was finally able to keep water down, and the migraine was starting to ease.

I still cannot get over how understanding and compassionate my 8 and 4 year old children were yesterday.  They made every effort to be very quiet and play nicely together.  We always make sure that there are easy, healthy snacks that are safely accessible for the kids to grab, when desperate times call for desperate measures.  Yesterday fit the bill, to a tee.  I had thanked and praised them a number of times throughout the day, for being so awesome for me, and they were later rewarded with dinner at McDonalds, curtesy of my hubby 😛

If my children have learnt anything positive about having a “Chronic Mom”, it is that they not only demonstrate compassion toward me when they can see that I’m struggling, but towards each other, and others in their lives.  They are such gentle souls, with an amazing grasp of awareness towards others, and I’m very proud of them both.

When I woke up this morning, the very first thing I noticed was that I had absolutely no signs of a migraine!  Not even the nagging pressure in my forehead that has not let up for the last few weeks.  Inside, I was jumping for joy!

The pretty butterfly that came to visit this morning, was the icing on the cake.  Its timing was so perfect, and seemed to have a purpose.  A few theories have crossed my mind, and they all point to it being a sign of hope.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Sign Of Hope

  1. dominique says:

    I’m glad you’re migraine is gone. Woo hoo! I love that you had a visit from the butterfly. Beautiful on so maby levels…

  2. Vonnie says:

    Sorry for your suffering, Nancy. I had a 12 hour migraine yesterday. And I just snapped a pic of a butterfly this morning that landed on a flower on my porch-is that ironic or what? Let’s keep our fingers crossed that today will be better for both of us. Hang in there.

    • Nancy says:

      Hi Vonnie,

      Wow! That is really ironic! lol Hope is in the air 😉 I’m sorry that you too have been dealing with migraines, and I hope that your day will be free from them! Today is the second day I have worken up without any migraine or pressure…so hopefully I’m out of the woods, or at least for awhile! Hope you are too!

      P.S. I have no idea what kind of butterfly it was. I tried to search google and figure it out, but there are way too many kinds…lol.

  3. Vonnie says:

    BTW – you don’t happen to know what kind of butterfly that is, do you? It’s lovely.

  4. Pingback: FibroBlog Monday: Some of our favorite blogs and posts « Fibro Blog

  5. Margie says:

    We are very passionate about butterflies in our Support Group. Along with the butterfly we have a cross. So we know that we have hope. We have a mother in our group that has migraines so bad and she has young children. I was blessed not to have fibromyalgia until my children were older to take care of thereselves and also not to have migraines. Prayers to all of you that have migraines with fibromyalgia. God bless you …….He loves you 🙂 love in Christ

Leave a Reply

