Laughing Matters…

…lift our spirits!


Laughter (noun):

When a smile has an orgasm

It is well known that humor is used by many as a distraction, not only for pain, but for many of life’s stresses.

It gives our mind and body a temporary break from life’s troubles and stresses.  Laughter decreases stress hormones in our body, and triggers the release of a hormone called endorphines, which is our body’s natural painkiller.

Laughter therapy has become increasingly popular.  Take a look at this group of people who are participating in a laughter therapy class.  Their laughs are infectious!

There are so many ways to ensure we get a good daily dose of laughter, and I’d like to share 5 of my comic relief sources.

1) My children :): Children are such natural little comics. They are so unpredictable with the things they say and do, and their perception of the world around them can be so hilarious! I actually keep an ongoing list of the things my children say, that make me laugh, so that I can go back and read it when I need a lift.

2) Good ol’ reliable movies: Movies that I’ve watched recently, that had me in stitches are Just Married and Grown Ups.

The preview for The Other Guys looks hilarious and is on my list of movies I want to see!

I’m also very much looking forward to the fall lineup of TV shows :).

3) Short Video clips: YouTube is a quick way to save and watch clips that make you laugh, or at least put a smile on your face :). Have you seen the Evian Roller Babies? They make me smile every time!

4) Light reads with humor: One of the books I really enjoyed, that had me laughing out loud was Are You There Vodka? It’s Me Chelsea by Chelsea Handler.  With that being said, it you are offended by colorful language or vulgarities, you might want to pass on this book 😉

5) Friends and Family:  I’m fortunate to have people in my life that have a really good sense of humor, which I can feed off!  My sister and I spell craziness when we get going, whether it is in person, on the phone, or instant messaging.  More than half of our conversations end in laugh attacks, ending in tears because we are laughing so hard.  I can rely on a couple of hilarious friends who very easily get me laughing even on some of the toughest days 😉

What are your top sources of laughter?  Do you have a favorite movie or video clip that has you laughing out loud every time?

Please share your info and links, so the rest of us can enjoy a laugh along with you!  Another reason I’m missing my PC, for all the funny websites I have bookmarked!  Yes, it’s STILL being repaired (eye roll).

Happy Friday everyone!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Laughing Matters…

  1. phylor says:

    If I need a giggle, or three, the Austin Powers movies always get me laughing. So do the shows that pull together award wining tv commericals (is it the grand prix award?). And, I have a friend who puns, alot (too much some times = punishment 🙂 ), but he’s been making me laugh for 35+ years.

  2. Pingback: a little late and a little short: here are a few of my favo(u)rite things « Phylor's Blog

Leave a Reply

