Catching Up

Lately, it’s taking all I can to average one post a week at Chronic Connection.  I don’t know how my fellow bloggers muster up the energy and ability to post daily (or almost).  I’m even having trouble keeping up with reading them all! Lol!  My apologies for being so inactive lately!

This summer has wiped me right out, and the transition back to school has been more difficult on my body than I have been willing to give it credit for.

One week into the new school year, and both my children have been sick since Thursday evening.  It’s official, school has started!  They seem to be feeling quite a bit better now though.  Maybe the herbal tea I forced on them yesterday helped ;).   With any luck, they will both be able to take part in their swimming lessons tomorrow!  I can’t even begin to tell you how excited I am to have a good reason to leave the house tomorrow…lol!  I think I’m more excited than the kids.

This past week has been so rough, that the only time I have left the house, was to drive to and from school.  I am extremely grateful that the nerve pain that has had me on edge all day seems to have simmered down, FINALLY.  Just in time for dinner and to get into a nice hot shower.  I tried absolutely everything I could think of today to get relief from the intense pain, which oddly was only running through the right side of my body (mostly my lower arm and from hip to knee), with no success.  My system wasn’t able to tolerate the medication I was prescribed ions ago for nerve pain, and unfortunately it doesn’t work as a short term treatment, or I would have been more than willing to endure the side effects today.

My plan for the rest of this evening is to climb back into bed, snuggle up with my hubby, and enjoy some quiet time together.

I hope that you are all doing well tonight, and that you are having a “good” day!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Catching Up

  1. phylor says:

    Was Lyrica the med you couldn’t take? Just wondering as Lyrica has made a big difference in my facial pain levels which are tied into nerve issues in my neck. Hope the kids continue on the mend, and that the hot shower worked it’s magic!
    I am in awe of how folks can blog, facebook, comment, and raise a family! I have trouble just keeping up with facebook! lol
    Folks certainly understand when certain activities, such as blogging, need to take a back seat to other issues, especially if it’s been a bad pain period!

  2. Nancy says:

    Hi Phylor,

    Tramadol (sp?) was the med my doctor prescribed specifically for nerve pain, which I wasn’t able to tollerate. I was prescribed Lyrica, but the side effects were too much. It only provided me relief for about 2 hours out of 24. It wasn’t a good match for me ;). I’m glad that Lyrica has been a good fit for you! How many mg do you take? If I remember correctly, I started at 25mg, with the plan of increasing to 75mg. At 25mg I wasn’t getting any relief or side effects. It was once I increased to 50mg that everything fell apart.

  3. Tiffany says:

    You are doing good to HAVE a blog! I am impressed with all you are able to manage. My husband had the same experience as you with Lyrica, though I am glad to hear it is helping some people. Those side affects were nasty! He was started this week on Sevella, so we’re crossing our fingers that it will take the edge off.

    • Nancy says:

      Tiffany,

      I’m so sorry I never replied to this comment! I remember reading it, but must not have had a chance to reply before getting distracted…lol. Thank you so much for your encouragement. I hope that things are working out well for your hubby on the Sevella! I hope to hear from you, how it’s going!

      Take care,

      Nancy

  4. shoshana says:

    Just checking in – it’s been a month since you posted. Are you ok? It sounds like you’re minimally overloaded. I hope you are well.

    • Nancy says:

      Thank you so much Shoshana for checking in. I really appreciate your thoughtfulness. I’m doing okay, well kind of 😉 I have been quite overwhelmed over the last couple of months and I think it has all caught up to me! I’m kind of just trying to keep my head above water. These days I’m focused on keeping things as simple as possible, and taking one day at a time. Hopefully, I one of these days I will be doing better than that, and will be able to enjoy being back at Chronic Connection. I really miss writing, and at the same time, I feel really disconnected from everything…know what I mean? I’m also WAY behind on reading all the blogs I love. It just feels like life is moving way to fast for me to keep up 😉

      I hope that things are okay on your end! Thanks again for taking the time to leave a comment 🙂

      (((gentle hugs)))

Leave a Reply

