Back To School Prep

Image from WeHeartIt

The countdown is on!  My son’s school starts back on Thursday, and I’m trying to get the kids, as well as myself back into the groove.

Last week we started backing up the kids’ bedtimes, and this week I’m backing up mine 😉  Adjusting to change can be challenging for any parents, especially if you’re a chronic Mom or Dad.  I need much more time to make that transition then I did before chronic illnesses were a part of my life.  Personal history has proven that establishing a regular bedtime for myself will most certainly help.

Last week my intention was the focus on weeding out clothes that my munchkins have outgrown, and making a list of what needs to be purchased to complete their fall/winter wardrobes.  Life happened, and I didn’t even come close to accomplishing as much as I had hoped to.  This morning, I think I’ll take a quick inventory of what they have, and what they need.  The plan today is to hit the mall, and try to get the clothes shopping done as efficiently and as painlessly as possible.  It’s rainy and cold, and my body is not cooperating.  Between you and me, I’d rather curl up in bed with my heating pad and have a low-key day 😉

I’m also trying to get my mind into gear and thinking back to simple evening routines that can make mornings easier and quicker for us to all get ready.  For most of us living with chronic pain & fatigue, mornings are a major challenge.  Budgeting extra time to literally get our bodies mobile and allow our medications to kick in is really important.  So, any time-saving efforts that can be done in the evening, can make a huge difference the next morning!

A few things that help me:

1) Showers/baths at night, instead of in the morning

2) Clothes are laid out at night

3) Kitchen is prepped for morning.  Anything I need to prepare breakfast is on the counter and ready to use (ie: toaster, plates, bowls, cereal…etc).  The less I have to do first thing in the morning, the better!

4) Son’s lunch is packed and in the fridge.  All he has to do is grab it on his way out the door in the morning.

5) When the colder weather arrives, gloves, hats, snow pants…etc, are all laid out on the stairs near the front door.  This way nobody is rushing to find missing items.

Fortunately, we have the option each spring to pay a flat fee, and all the school supplies are ordered by the school for the next school year.  Because the school purchases supplies in bulk, and do not mark up the prices or take any profit, it saves us money, not to mention energy 🙂  That’s always a good thing!

Are you ready for the school year to start, or do you still have shopping left too?

What tips do you have that can make transitioning back to school easier?

I hope everyone is having a good weekend!

Thanks for visiting, and I hope you will come back again soon 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back To School Prep

  1. phylor says:

    These days, my only back to school activities are avoiding the malls during folks’ back to school shopping expeditions!

    But, like you, I have difficulty getting going in the morning, and I use some of the same tricks when I have to go off somewhere before noon: showering the night before; picking what I’m going to wear (with my IBS, I have to pick a range of outfits depending on how distended my abdomen is am in the morning); making sure everything I need to take with me is ready (purse packed, prescriptions called in, documents in my bag, etc); making sure I have money for the train/bus; bottle of water cooling in the fridge; ice packs for the groceries (if I’m heading two towns over on the train to do grocery shopping) and making a list for the morning pre, during and post out of the house activity(ies).
    Of course, some nights I’m so tired, I end up “winging it” the next morning (and usually regretting it because I’m rushed or I forget something).
    Good luck with your mall expedition! I like the idea of the school board buying supplies and charging families a flat fee!

  2. fibromama says:

    My daugthers go back tomorrow. I really like the idea of paying a flat fee at the end of the Spring for supplies. I have only purchased supplies for my youngest and already I’m up to over $150, though $45 of that was printer ink for our home printer. I agree that preparing the night before is the way to go, though my problem is finding the energy at the end of the night to do all of that prep work!

Leave a comment